Which Piece Will ‘Go’? : game ends for one Monopoly icon

monopoly1When I play Monopoly, I always want to be the dog; my second choice is always the car. So you can imagine my sorrow when I read that both pieces could soon be forced into game token retirement!

Hasbro, the maker of the iconic family board game, is hosting a Facebook competition inviting users to vote to save their favourite piece and to vote, from a selection, for a new piece.

The car, the Scottie dog, the thimble, the boot, the battleship, the hat, the iron and the wheelbarrow are all facing elimination.

Facebook users can vote from a robot, a diamond ring, a cat, a helicopter or a guitar to replace the shafted piece.

The new pieces have been developed in an attempt to modernise the Depression-era brand, Jonathan Berkowtiz, vice president of marketing for Hasbro Gaming, told the Daily News.

“The tokens that are in the game today represent household items from the 1930s when the game was first introduced. We wanted to introduce a new token to the game that’s more representative of today’s Monopoly players.”

And this isn’t the first time tokens have faced retirement.

Players used to be able to zip around the board buying property with a lantern, purse or a rocking horse. These three pieces were sent to retirement in the 1950s.

A cannon and a man on horseback are also no longer available in the classic edition – this makes my little sister breaking the latter from my mum’s 1960s era Monopoly even more awkward.

Let us know which tokens you voted for in the comment section below, via our Facebook page or on Twitter and let us know what you think the new token should have been – part of me wonders why an iPhone wasn’t an option…

6 Comments

Filed under Buttons & Screens

6 responses to “Which Piece Will ‘Go’? : game ends for one Monopoly icon

  1. little lucy

    I will just have to carry the horse around with me always in case a game of monopoly randomly breaks out in front of me!!!

    its a little sad that they are retiring the pieces – but I can understand why! But I don’t understand why they are removing the dog and car! those are still fairly modern!!

    • Well they’re not retiring all of them – just one, but it’s up to a public vote. I think we can safely say the car and the dog will be safe (I hope!). I’m expecting the iron or the wheelbarrow to go.

  2. DebateLover

    Goodbye iron! Worst piece ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. Yeah I think its time to retire a few.. Surely the Iron is a bit outdated now? If not a bit controversial maybe?

    They are only replacing one though, so I shouldn’t be too worried about my 2 favs (car then dog) being retired…

    However the prospect of the new robot piece excites me a little!

  4. Tara

    I too am pretty excited by the prospect of a robot Jamie! So long as my favourite, the boot doesn’t get ‘booted’ out. See what I did there? 😉

  5. Veta

    Really liked what you had to say in your post, Which Piece Will ‘Go’? : game ends for one Monopoly icon | Cheaper Than Rubies, thanks for the good read!
    — Veta

    http://www.terrazoa.com

Leave a Reply

